top of page

JESUS SAID 'GO!'

He called, I answered

Welcome to a young, missionary nurse's journey in Zambia for a year! Excited to share stories, food, travel, jokes, and lots of Jesus! Enjoy <3

Read More
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe

CONTACT

500 Terry Francois Street San Francisco, CA 94158

123-456-7890

Magazines pile
Home: Contact
Search
  • Writer's picturecarolinalopez

But God said "Not yet?"

This morning at 4am I arrived to DFW airport to begin my travel journey to Zambia. As I was at the United kiosk trying to get my ticket, it requested me to speak to an agent. Lugging all my bags with my wonderful mother who brought me to the airport, we spoke to the agent and they said my ticket has been revoked. I kind of just stared at her, waiting for a "JUST KIDDING!", but I knew early morning humor is not an airline agents strong suit, so I started to try to break down what she was saying. I showed her my email sent by Student Missions and she would just repeat, "You have no ticket, you cannot fly. Try to contact whoever bought the ticket." My flight to Chicago was leaving at 5:50am meaning I had to get my ticket an hour before, and so the race against time began. Between calls to the incredible Student Missions team, calls to Ethiopian airlines, exchanging emails between all of us we attempted to get me a flight. The agents kept repeating that something must have gone wrong with the reservation, perhaps the credit card transaction did not go through. . .but we had the bank statement, the credit card verification information all there on email meaning there was no reason for me to not get a ticket!!

Throughout this whole process, I must say I was very calm, because I know Who I serve. I know that I have been called, but perhaps timing just wasn't right. Interesting enough, this was the verse of the day:

"The Lord is my light and my salvation—

so why should I be afraid?

The Lord is my fortress, protecting me from danger,

so why should I tremble?

Psalm 27:1

That is why I was at peace, for He who is with me is greater than He who is against me. When God sees it fit for me to arrive to Zambia, I will arrive, for His timing is always perfect!


So after many long phone calls, we were finally able to book me another flight!! So I AM going to Zambia PTLLL! The airline apologized greatly for the inconvenience for it seemed nothing had been missing from our part, just some internal confusion within the airline itself. I do not know why it happened and I cannot linger on the "what if's" or reminding myself that I should be almost half way through my original flight to Zambia instead of still in TX (although I am not complaining, I love my fam & TX 5evrrrrr ahaha).

This is just the beginning to a great adventure & I can't wait to see how God keeps showing Himself even when the circumstances don't seem that favorable.

I want to thank EVERYONE! for all the love & support they have shown these last few days. Knowing I have an army of Godly people praying for me this year, my heart feels so overwhelmed.

I ask that you guys keep my friend & fellow SM Melanie Ramirez in prayers as she is on her way right now to Zambia as well as for all the other SMs :))


Much love,

Caro


P.S. enjoy a 4:30am pic w my beautiful mom at the airport! ( love you maaaa)


336 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page